Hide specific applications during Citrix Session Recording operations

Staying on the Session Recording theme from my blog last week, with the release of 2402 LTSR there are great new features now available for Session Recording.

  • Contextual session recording based on smart access tags
  • Azure Active Directory (AD) support (preview)

In this blog specifically I want to highlight the feature that allows you to hide specific applications with a layer mask during screen recording.

This will allow you protect sensitive applications & data from being captured if you have screen recording enabled.

This feature has also been released on Session Recording Service, so you can configure from the Service Portal for your on-prem Session Recording servers. A pre-requisite for Service is that your on-prem servers & agents require 2311 version.

I’ve tested from the cloud service portal and this is what I did;

I logged into Session Recording Service via DaaS in Citrix Cloud.

I needed to create a new custom recording policy so I selected “add policy”. As you can see I named mine “2402 LTSR feature testing” and it lists as a custom policy. I’m not able to modify the built in “system defined” policies already there.

Within recording action, I selected “enable session recording with notification” but as per requirement, I ensured Lossy screen recording is enabled in the Options pane.

Here I selected the application to hide, in my case I wanted to hide Notepad++ and selected the display colour for hidden area in the screen recording;

I selected the process for notepad++ in my policy, i can enter multiple application processes to exclude separating with a comma.

End-user active session view

Admin view from within Session Recording Recordings Web-Player

In a little plug for another feature mentioned in my previous blog on Session Recording, I’ve select to include the endpoint statistics view, RTT, Network send/receive & Memory/CPU of the VDI during the time of recording capture. (Great for a troubleshooter) – as you can see my Notepad++ application with my confidential data is not available to view and layered out.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.